5 Things I’ve Learned in Five Days of Marriage

Well, I’m married! And it has indeed been an adventure. I’m still pretty sure I don’t know precisely what I’m doing. Real life hit full force today, and actually….it was not as bad as expected. Being married is pretty nice so far! I’ve got a to-do list of things to do as long as my arm, and an apartment to unpack and clean up, and thank-you notes to write… and somehow all of these things seem so small. It’ll all fall together, and I’m not alone.

There are a few things that have been surprises in the first five days though, and I thought I would share them in case they might help some other people. Disclaimer: I write frankly. If you’re easily offended, turn back!

 

As awesome as it is, sex takes work!

A lot of work. I honestly had no clue how much effort it would be. I mean, I wasn’t naive or anything. And I read Christian sex books, and went through pre-marital counseling….and I still had no clue.

 

Go to a doctor before getting married

I didn’t think this was very important. It is. I’ll leave it there.

 

Being married makes you more vulnerable.

I don’t know if this is just me, I have a feeling it probably isn’t. I think that it might be because marriage involves two people becoming one. And that involves opening up, in every way possible. Vulnerability comes with the territory. I think I sort of knew that…. but that also seems to mean that it’s a LOT easier to hurt eachother, with things that would have barely gotten an eyebrow raise before.

 

The little things are just that.

This was sort of more something I learned the wedding day and the couple of days before that, and I’ll write the “what I learned about weddings” post later. But About two days before the wedding, I decided nothing was going to get to me. I was too blissfully happy. I just decided. And for the most part, it worked! Well, since the wedding, I’ve been making a conscious effort to continue that, and it’s been really neat. Focusing on how happy I and blessed we are, and then when bad things come up choosing not to let it ruffle my feathers but to instead turn to how happy we are and let that take over. It’s been really neat.

My next post will be about the wedding, but the final thing I’ve learned so far:

 

Get lots of sleep! Being married is tiring!

 

Leave a Reply

