Why I Want To Figuratively Murder People Who Misuse the Word Literally

Here’s a conversation my husband (gosh that’s fun to say!) and I had this morning.

The difference between figuratively and literally. This is both my pet peeve, and something I find hilariously funny. Literally, I laugh out loud. It’s figuratively the funniest thing in the world.

 

“I literally feel like a truck hit me.”

…..Dear Lord, I hope not! How are you talking? Why aren’t you in a hospital? ….Do you mean figuratively?

If I see literally misused one more time, I will go figuratively insane!

 

Image

 

Image

What do you think, readers? Are you as bothered by this as I am? Does it make you figuratively want to tear your hair out? What are your grammar peeves, or grammar jokes?

2 thoughts on “Why I Want To Figuratively Murder People Who Misuse the Word Literally

Leave a Reply

