I’ve been longing to be on the mission field lately. It doesn’t help that we just got a phone call about going to Eurasia in the future. Or that I am, and always have been impatient. Or that I am bored and unhappy here.

But maybe where I am is the mission field. I’ve always known that, but I’m still figuring out how to live it. People talk about  how mission trips can change you, and I believe it. And I look forward to it. My unplanned, mostly unwanted mission trip to Waxahachie, Texas has changed me too. And it’s a good thing.

I want to be in New Mexico so bad right now, especially with my dear, dear friend graduating this weekend, and so many things going on in my own life. But tonight I smacked face first into the beginning of that sentence: “I want.” I’m pretty self-centered, a lot. Maybe there’s more going on than what I want. It seems like common sense, but that doesn’t necessarily make it something I commonly think about.

Maybe thinking about it is one of those “other things.” Maybe there’s a reason this mission trip isn’t done yet.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

