I Pledge Allegiance to the Flag?

Ladies and gentlemen, my blog’s first ever guest post! The author wished to remain anonymous.

I recently attended a conference of a stereotypical evangelical right group; the opening ceremonies began with a prayer, per standard, followed by a recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. This chain of events would hardly surprise anyone acquainted with this community. While reciting this pledge with the hundreds in attendance however, I began to think about what exactly I was saying. More specifically, is pledging allegiance to a post-Christian nation without stopping to contemplate the gravity of what we are saying something we should regularly engage in?

Now, before you label me a traitor, I love my country; there is no other nation on earth I would rather be a citizen of, and I thank God for the many blessings and freedoms I have received as a member of our great nation. Rather, the question I am posing to you is this; why must we always associate our nation with our God?

In our demographic, we love to associate the two; it makes us feel warm and fuzzy on the inside. We cling to phrases like, “One nation under God.” Well I would propose to you that all nations are under God. Believe it or not, God is still in control of nations like North Korea, and He has a plan for them. America and Jesus are two different things; America is a creation of man, Jesus came to save man.

So how is this relevant? In the context of recent cultural debates, our focus should not be to make laws that align with our beliefs, but rather make our “enemies” align with our beliefs. With that being said, having laws that do align with our beliefs to a degree is an enormous blessing, but it should not be our ultimate goal.

I can’t tell you the number of times I have heard “America was founded on Christian principles.” My response is simply, so what? Nations change their principles; America is not the church, nor has it ever been so. As a Christian, your first allegiance should be to your God, before any institution of man regardless of the intentions that institution was founded with.

The conclusions I want to derive from this are simple, I believe you should put what is best for the church ahead of what you believe is best for America. With a heavily bureaucratic, sometimes corrupt, and often unpopular government, is it best for the American church to claim a strong relation to this government?

Based on the aforementioned augments, I believe that we need to separate our love of God from love of country. Furthermore, just imagine if we took all the time and effort we put into declaring our political beliefs, and instead put that time and effort into sharing the gospel?

Leave a Reply

