Hair Care for Curly Girls

I thought it would be fun to write a post about what to do with curly hair. There are a plethora of products on the market for curly hair, and I know from personal experience how tempting it can be to reach for this gel, that mousse, and that other curl enhancing cream over there.

Let me simplify it for you with a couple basic principles. 

Hair absorbs two things: water from the air, and moisture in the form of oil (conditioners, etc.) In a dry climate, like New Mexico, if you over-condition, your hair will feel dry and brittle and puffy, instead of soft and luscious. This is because your hair is so bonded to the conditioner it can’t absorb the tiny bit of water their is in the air. Don’t reach of the conditioner bottle! Instead, try just shampooing, and then, when you get out, use a leave in treatment. More on that in a bit. If you live somewhere humid though, your hair might get big, and out of control, and frizzy. It’s absorbing too much water! Extra conditioning will keep out some of that water, and help your hair calm down.

As far as shampoo, be careful what you use! A lot of shampoo contains sulfates. Sulfates produce nice suds, but they also rough up the hair shaft. For girls with ultra-fine, straight hair, that’s awesome. It adds texture. For curly girls, it’s a mess. We’ve got texture already. Untamed, lion mane texture. And not in the sexy way. NO SULFATES.

There are lots of expensive shampoos with no sulfates, but you don’t need to spend a lot of money. Tresemme has a line called Naturals that has very little sulfates and is awesome. Also, Organix has several different lines, all sulfate free.

Ok. So you’ve quit using sulfates, and are either using or not using a rinse out conditioner depending on where you live. What about other products? If you’re like me, a lot of leave in products leave your curls sticky, or crunchy, or just gross feeling. You need enough to calm down the pouf, but you probably still want you hair to have some movement, right? Let me tell you, oils are your best friend. Anything that says “serum” is ok (not cream or gel or mousse…those add more texture instead of silky shine) To get rid of frizz, I highly recommend Moroccan Argan Oil. It absorbs fast so your hair never feels greasy, and it doesn’t feel like there is product in your hair at all. And it only takes a dime sized amount combed through wet hair. Organix sells it the most cheaply. They also have a keratin oil that is wonderful. Either one will also work as a heat protectant. And they will reduce breakage, strengthen your hair, add shine, and help your hair grow faster. If you need a gel, use 100% pure aloe vera. You can get it anywhere, and it’s perfectly clear. It’s sticky enough to hold hair in place, but isn’t crunchy when it dries. Water will wash it right out, and it’s good for your hair.

Pretty simple!

If you’re curious, I use Organix Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo to wash my hair, no conditioner, then I massage in some Moroccan Argan Oil, and some Keratin Oil into my wet hair and let it air dry.

Hopefully this will be helpful! Leave me a comment and let me know what you think, and what other hair questions you have!

 

12 thoughts on “Hair Care for Curly Girls

  1. I think you commented on my blog Simply Clarke this morning, but it didn’t leave me an email address to reply to you! So I just wanted to say thanks for stopping by and I am glad you liked it 🙂

  2. Thanks!! This definitely applies to me. I’ve had someone recommend Moroccan oil to me before, but I wasn’t sure as it seemed expensive, and I’m sick of experinmenting with various expensive products!! You’re in the US? I’m in Australia, but if you’re down south, we may have similar climates? When you say that you use aloe vera, do you buy it specially for hair, or do you use the same stuff that you can use on skin after sunburn?

    • Yes, probably similar climates! Moroccan Argan Oil can be expensive depending where you get it, that’s why I recommend Organix brand, it’s much less expensive. Also, you only need a very small amount at a time, so it lasts forever! Just getting rid of sulfates in your shampoo can help so much though!

      There’s not aloe specifically for hair that I know of, but there is a specific kind. The most common kind for sunburns is the green stuff, and that has lidocane in it too. DON’T pick that one. Pick one is clear, and say 100% Aloe or something similar. Does that help? Sometimes, if I feel like the gel is too thick to go into my hair well, I’ll mix it with a little water in my hand.

      • Thank you! That is helpful. Will have to see if we can get the Organix brand in Australia.
        I do have a question though, that is probably a silly one!! How do you know if a shampoo has sulfates in it? Are they actually called sulfates on the label?

      • Usually things will brag about being “sulfate free.” Other than that, look in the ingredients. If you see “sodium laureth sulfate” or anything like it, it’s bad!

  3. I tried all these things and I swear I feel that the texture of my hair does not exist anywhere else. It’s very, very fine, but insanely curly, like if left in its natural state to dry would go down to my shoulders but once I straighten it goes halfway down my back. I gave up a few years ago and now get Japanese straightening done every 6 months, now I never have to think about my hair anymore.

    • What is Japanese straightening?

      Your hair sounds like my adopted sister’s. The only thing that worked for her is what’s called diamond drops.

  4. Mrs. B, did you ever hear about Brazilian blowout straightening products? OK, the Japanese is similar but it lasts for 6-8 months and it’s classified as a thermal reconditioning treatment. Once you do it you you don’t have to do much to your hair, I used to spend at least an hour and a half styling my hair a day. First flat ironing it and then placing strategic waves and curls and making volume. Now, on a lazy day I can just comb it and let it air dry and it still looks good. Only thing is that is a bit expensive, between 600-800$ American.

  5. Some people on some forums complained that they had damage but some people complain about everything. When I first started taking biotin supplements for nail and hair growth I read every forum known to man and 90% of the comments were people that said that they broke out in horrible cystic acne, I have been taking biotin for 3 months now and my skin has never been better. I don’t think that Japanese straightening damages though, because, I have the finest hair on earth and if anyone’s hair would break off it should have been mine, but it’s not dry or damaged and I don’t have split ends and it’s very soft 🙂 the worst thing about it that if you have fine hair that prones to be oily (like mine) which gets more oily in the hot weather, you can’t wash your hair for 3 days after the treatment.

Leave a Reply

