I Love You Anyway.

The beauty of marriage isn’t discovered in the elated cries or romantic whispers of “I love you.”

“Happily married” isn’t a culmination of the “I love you-s” either.

The mystery and joy of marriage is found when one can say to another “I love you anyway.

When you’re a royal pain, and I don’t want another minute….I love you anyway.

When you do something hurtful….I love you anyway.

When you don’t meet my needs, and I don’t meet yours….I love you anyway.

When I am unkind, and say things that make your heart hurt, and you can still say….”I love you anyway.”

When I nag you and drive you crazy and at the end of the day you can still reassure me….”I love you anyway.”

When I tell you the worst things I’ve done and thoughts and said, and you whisper to me in the dark, “I love you anyway.”

 

It’s in those messes, in the “I love you anyway” of life, that the beauty of our marriage unfolds, and that we become more like Christ. That is a beautiful mystery.

4 thoughts on “I Love You Anyway.

Leave a Reply

