This morning I started to read a book called “The Jesus I Never Knew” by Philip Yancey.

I’d like to post some of my favorite quotes from the first chapter. Commentary may come later, for now I’m still processing. I’d love your thoughts!

“You can gauge the size of a ship that has passed out of sight by the huge wake it leaves behind.”

 

The vision of Christ that thou dost see

Is my vision’s greatest enemy:

Thine has a great hook nose like thine,

Mine has a snub nose like to mine….

Both read the Bible day and night,

But thou read’st black where I read white.”

~William Blake

 

J.B. Phillips wrote, after translating and paraphrasing the Gosels, “I have read, in Greek an Latin, scores of myths, but I did not find the slightest flavour of myth here…no man could have set down such artless and vulnerable accounts as these unless some real Event lay behind them.”

 

“Jesus, I found, bore little resemblance to the Mister Rogers character I had met in Sunday School, and was remarkably unlike the person I had studied in Bible college. For one thing, he was far less tame. In my prior image, I realized, Jesus’ personality had matched that of a Star Trek Vulcan: he remained calm, cool, and collected as he strode like a robot among excitable human beings on planet Earth. That is not what I found portrayed in the Gospels and in the better films. Other people effected Jesus deeply: obstinacy frustrated him, self-righteousness infuriated him, simple faith thrilled him. Indeed, he seemed more emotional and spontaneous than the average person, not less. More passionate, not less.”

 

“If Jesus had never lived, we would not have been able to invent him.”

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

